Assessment Committee

The Assessment Committee is a completely ICaP instructor-run committee made up of graduate students, visiting clinical instructors, and is led by the Assistant Director of Assessment, Derek Sherman. In Spring 2019, the committee decided that its mission is as follows:

The Assessment Committee is committed to creating visibility to scholarly-grounded assessment practices through instructor and website resources, norm, read, and rate sessions, and professional development opportunities. Additionally, the committee is dedicated to making sure assessment is data driven, collaborative, transparent, and influenced by current writing assessment and social justice scholarship.

Currently, the ICaP Assessment Committee is working on two major projects with this mission in mind: 1) an exit survey for students in English 106/108; and 2) a new rubric for instructors for the final reflective essay.

If you would like to join the Assessment Committee, please contact Derek Sherman ( for more information. Or, you can talk to any of our following members: Libby Chernouski (, Victoria Braegger (, Joe Forte (, Jessica Mercado (, Garrett Colon (, Parva Panahi (, Maddie Gehling (, Erika Gotfredson (, and Allegra Smith (

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.