Skip to main content

About Modern Fiction Studies

John N. Duvall, Editor
Robert P. Marzec, Associate Editor

Published for the Purdue English Department by the Johns Hopkins University Press

Modern Fiction Studies began at Purdue University in 1955 as a publication of the Modern Fiction Club in the Department of English. Since then, it has evolved into a major journal in the field with a worldwide circulation. Mfs publishes essays on all aspects of modern and contemporary fiction welcoming theoretical perspectives; we are equally interested in work on canonical texts and work on emergent texts. Mfs publishes two general issues and two special issues each year. General issues include seven or eight essays and reviews of recent books on modern fiction and theory. Special issues are devoted to announced topics and are edited either in-house or by selected guest editors. Mfs also publishes review-essays; reviews and review-essays are commissioned by the editors of the journal, though suggestions for reviews and reviewers are welcome. Mfs is published for the Purdue English Department by the Johns Hopkins University Press and is a member journal of the Council of Editors of Learned Journals.

Editorial Staff

John N. Duvall, Editor
Robert P. Marzec, Associate Editor
Allyn PearsonEditorial Assistant
Matt MorgensternEditorial Assistant
Thomas Daniel, Production Manager

Editorial Boards

Mfs carries two editorial boards, the Purdue Advisory Board and the Editorial Advisory Board; board members serve as referees for submitted essays that have passed through an initial screening. The Purdue Advisory Board is composed of faculty members in the Purdue English Department with areas of expertise and interest in the fields the journal covers. The Editorial Advisory Board is composed of distinguished scholars and critics from universities and colleges in the United States and abroad who work in the areas of modern and contemporary narrative, theory, and cultural studies.


Purdue Advisory Board

Marlo Denise David
Wendy Flory
Sandor Goodhart
Shaun F. D. Hughes
Robert Paul Lamb
Maren Linett
Alfred J. López
Jennifer Freeman Marshall
Daniel Morris
Venetria K. Patton
Nancy J. Peterson
Arkady Plotnitsky
Aparajita Sagar


Editorial Advisory Board

Paul B. Armstrong, Brown University
Herman Beavers, University of Pennsylvania
Michael Bérubé, Pennsylvania State University
Stephen Burn, University of Glasgow
Debra Rae Cohen, University of South Carolina
Laura Doyle, University of Massachusetts
Jonathan Eburne, Pennsylvania State University
Anne Fernald, Fordham University
Ellen G. Friedman, College of New Jersey
Scott Herring, Yale University
Peter Kalliney, University of Kentucky
John T. Matthews, Boston University
Deborah E. McDowell, University of Virginia
Mark McGurl, Stanford University
James McNaughton, University of Alabama
Timothy Melley, Miami University
Alan Nadel, University of Kentucky
Kinohi Nishikawa, Princeton University
Stacey Olster, SUNY Stony Brook
Robert Dale Parker, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Adam Parkes, University of Georgia
Rajagopalan Radhakrishnan, University of California, Irvine
John Paul Riquelme, Boston University
Judith Roof, Rice University
Michael Rubenstein, Stony Brook University
Ramón Saldívar, Stanford University
Urmila Seshagiri, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Stephen Hong Sohn, Fordham University
Siobhan Somerville, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Susan Strehle, SUNY Binghamton
John J. Su, Marquette University
Aarthi Vadde, Duke University
Jay Watson, University of Mississippi
Phillip Wegner, University of Florida