Search the College of Liberal Arts directory system:

Faculty

NameContactTitle
David Atkinson atkinsod@purdue.edu
UNIV 025
(765) 496-2776
Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Education, Assistant Department Head

History of U.S. Foreign Relations, History of Imports to the United States, History of Migration and Diplomacy, International History, U.S. History

Tithi Bhattacharya tbhattac@purdue.edu
UNIV 309
(765) 496-2731
Associate Professor; Director of Global Studies (School of Interdisciplinary Studies)

Feminism, South Asian History, Class Formation and Colonialism, Marxist Theory

Kathryn Cramer Brownell brownell@purdue.edu
UNIV 022
(765) 496-2478
Associate Professor

U.S. History; 20th Century U.S. Political History, the American Presidency, and the Media

Cornelius Bynum clbynum@purdue.edu
UNIV 024
(765) 494-7102
Associate Professor

African-American History, Urban and Labor History, U.S. History

Susan Curtis curtis@purdue.edu
UNIV 329
(765) 494-4159
Professor

U.S. Intellectual and Religious History

Frederick Rowe Davis frdavis@purdue.edu
UNIV 231
765-494-4132
Department Head (Interim), Professor, R. Mark Lubbers Chair in the History of Science

History of Science, Environmental History

Ariel de la Fuente delafuen@purdue.edu
UNIV 324
(765) 494-4132
Associate Professor


Global History, Latin American History, Latin American Literature, Literary Studies, Intellectual History

James R. Farr jrfarr@purdue.edu
UNIV 311
(765) 496-2698
Professor

European History; Early Modern Europe, Renaissance, and Reformation

Vernard L. Foley foleyv@purdue.edu
REC 423
(765) 494-4132
Associate Professor

U.S. History, History of Science and Technology

Jennifer L. Foray jforay@purdue.edu
UNIV 125
(765) 494-4132
Associate Professor

Modern Europe, Imperialism, Decolonization, The Netherlands

Nancy Gabin ngabin@purdue.edu
UNIV 121
(765) 494-4141
Associate Professor

U. S. Women's and Gender History, U. S. Labor History, 20th Century U. S. History

Kim Gallon kgallon@purdue.edu
UNIV 122
(765) 496-2483
Assistant Professor

African American; African Diaspora; Sub-Saharan Africa; Women, Gender and Sexuality; Journalism History; Digital Humanities

William G. Gray wggray@purdue.edu
UNIV 328
(765) 496-2772
Associate Professor, International Programs Liaison

Modern Germany, Cold War Europe, History of Capitalism

Sally A. Hastings sahnolte@purdue.edu
UNIV 021
(765) 494-6783
Associate Professor

Japan & East Asia, Gender in Modern Japan

Stacy E. Holden sholden@purdue.edu
UNIV 127
Associate Professor

Modern Middle East and North Africa, U.S. Engagement with the Arab World

R. Douglas Hurt doughurt@purdue.edu
UNIV 023
(765) 494-4132
Professor

U.S. History; American Agricultural, Rural, West, Midwest and South

T. Cole Jones colejones@purdue.edu
UNIV 222
765-496-2796
Assistant Professor

Colonial and Revolutionary America, the Atlantic World, the Cultural History of Violence, War and Society

Rebekah A. Klein-Pejšová rkleinpe@purdue.edu
UNIV 313
(765) 494-6810
Associate Professor of History and Jewish Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Director of Human Rights Program (Department of Philosophy)

Modern Jewish and East Central European History, Minority/State Relations, Comparative Nationalism, Refugee Studies, Human Rights History

Wendy Kline wkline@purdue.edu
UNIV 325
(765) 496-2518
Dema G. Seelye Chair in the History of Medicine

History of Medicine, U.S. History, Women's History 

John L. Larson larsonjl@purdue.edu
UNIV 225
(765) 494-4127
Professor

U.S. History, U.S. Political and Early National, U.S. Business, U.S. Environmental History

Dawn G. Marsh dmarsh@purdue.edu
UNIV 028
(765) 494-7900
Associate Professor, Director of Native American and Indigenous Studies (School of Interdisciplinary Studies)

Native American and Indigenous Studies

Silvia Z. Mitchell mitch131@purdue.edu
UNIV 308
(765) 496-2715
Assistant Professor

Early Modern European History with an Emphasis on Spain and the Spanish Atlantic World, Early Modern Women & Gender History, Early Modern European Political and Diplomatic History, Queenship Studies, Court Studies

Mary X. Mitchell mitch279@purdue.edu
UNIV 322
Assistant Professor

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine; Legal History; United States in the World

Lawrence J. Mykytiuk larrym@purdue.edu
STEW 241
(765) 494-3605
Associate Professor of History (Courtesy Appointment), Department of History Librarian, and Associate Professor of Library Science

Biblical Studies, History of Ancient Israel

Yvonne M. Pitts ypitts@purdue.edu
UNIV 310
(765) 496-2758
Associate Professor

U.S. History, U.S. Legal and Constitutional History, History of Sexuality

Randy W. Roberts rroberts@purdue.edu
UNIV 223
(765) 496-2668
150th Anniversary Professor and Distinguished Professor of History

U.S. History, Recent U.S. History, Sports History, History of Hollywood, Popular Culture, Presidential History

Michael G. Smith mgsmith@purdue.edu
UNIV 027
(765) 496-2420
Professor

Russian and Aerospace History

Margaret Mih Tillman mmtillman@purdue.edu
UNIV 128
(765) 496-2651
Assistant Professor

China and East Asia, Education in Modern China, Childhood and Gender

Sharra Vostral svostral@purdue.edu
UNIV 307
(765) 496-2482
Associate Professor

Gender, Science and Technology; Science, Technology & Society; Health & Popular Culture; Material Culture

 

A. Whitney Walton awhitney@purdue.edu
UNIV 323
(765) 494-4132
Professor, Director of History Honors Program

Modern France; Modern Europe; 19th-20th Century Cultural, Social, Gender, and International History

Melinda S. Zook mzook@purdue.edu
UNIV 327
(765) 494-4134
Professor of History, Director of Cornerstone Integrated Liberal Arts

Early Modern European History, Tudor-Stuart England, Political Thought and Culture, Women and Gender


Continuing Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Dorothee Bouquet dbouquet@purdue.edu

(765) 494-4132
Continuing Lecturer

European History

Deborah L. Fleetham fleetham@purdue.edu
UNIV 126
(765) 496-2568
Continuing Lecturer

European History, Modern German History, Religious History, Women's/Gender History


Visiting Assistant Professor

NameContactTitle
William White white660@purdue.edu
BRNG 1155
Visiting Assistant Professor of History

Emeriti Faculty

NameContactTitle
John J. Contreni contreni@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

European; Intellectual, religious, and political culture of the early medieval period (fifth to eleventh centuries) with special emphasis on the manuscripts, schools, and texts of Carolingian Europe

Charles Cutter cutter@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

Colonial Latin American history, Spanish Borderlands history, Spanish Colonial legal history

Raymond E. Dumett rdumett@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

Global History. African, British Empire History.

Leonard H.D. Gordon lhdgordon@sbcglobal.net

Professor Emeritus of History

Modern Chinese History

Patrick J. Hearden phearden@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

U.S. History.  U.S. Foreign Affairs.

Charles W. Ingrao ingrao@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

European History. Early Modern Europe and Habsburg History.

Franklin T. Lambert flambert@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

Colonial and Revolutionary America

Lois N. Magner magnerln@aol.com

Professor Emerita

History of the Biological Sciences

Robert E. May mayr@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

Mid-19th century U.S. history, Mexican-American War and the Civil War, as well as the U.S. South and U.S. foreign relations, research and teaching has focused upon Civil War causation

Donald L. Parman parmand@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

20th Century Native American Affairs

Jon C. Teaford teaford@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

American Urban History

Harold D. Woodman hwoodman@purdue.edu

Professor Emeritus

Southern History


Lecturers

NameContactTitle
Brian Alberts alberts3@purdue.edu
REC 401
Graduate Student

19th c. US History, Transnationalism, Travel History

Keenan J. Shimko shimko@purdue.edu
On line
Lecturer

20th Century US, 20th Century Germany, Transnational/Global 20th Century, International Business History, Development of the North American Sports Car market, Automotive History.


Staff

NameContactTitle
Fay M. Chan chanf@purdue.edu
UNIV 221
(765) 494-4126
Graduate Secretary, Schedule Deputy
Nina J. Haberer haberern@purdue.edu
BRNG 1114
(765) 494-3670
CLA Academic Advisor
Dan Hall dahall@purdue.edu
SC 146E
(765) 494-3836
Business Office Supervisor
Nancy M. Hughes nhughes@purdue.edu
SC 146D(SLC) (A.M.) or UNIV 224 (History) (P.M.)
(765) 496-2892 (A.M.); (765) 494-4124 (P.M)
Business office
Julie A. Knoeller juliek@purdue.edu
UNIV 231
(765) 494-4132
Secretary/Building Deputy/Web Coordinator
Kristin Matz matz2@purdue.edu
UNIV 221
(765) 494-4121
Administrative Assistant

Graduate Students

NameContactTitle
Erin Barr barr37@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Wesley Bishop bishopw@purdue.edu
REC 421
765-494-4132
Graduate Student

US History, labor history, social reform movements, political economy

Bo Blew jblew@purdue.edu
REC 419
Graduate Student

U.S. Political History

Nancy E. Brown brown921@purdue.edu
REC 420
765-494-4132
Graduate Student

U.S. History

David Cambron dmcambron@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

U.S. History

Garick Chamberlin chambe89@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Alexander S. Dessens adessens@purdue.edu
REC 422
Graduate Student

European History

Erich Drollinger edrollin@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Lama El Sharief lama_Sharief@yahoo.com

Graduate Student
Zachary Elledge zelledge@purdue.edu
REC 404
Graduate Student

Civil War and Reconstruction; Civil War Memory; Southern History

Caitlin Fendley cfendley@purdue.edu
REC 404
Graduate Student

History of Medicine; 20th Century U.S. History; History of Science and Technology

Andrew Brett Fogel afogel@purdue.edu
REC 405
Graduate Student/History

Modern U.S. Political and Cultural History; Visual Culture; Popular Culture

Renee Gaarder rgaarder@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Edward J. Gray gray107@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

European History- Early 17th Century French Religion and Politics

Keith Harris harri635@purdue.edu
REC 422
Graduate Student

19th Century U.S., Political Economy, History of Capitalism

Tyler Herber herber0@purdue.edu
REC 419
Graduate Student

Indian nationalism and British imperialism in the 20th Century

McKenzie Isom isomm@purdue.edu
REC 421
Graduate Student

Women’s Gender and Sexuality,  20th Century Music and Popular Culture, 20th Century United States History 

Padraig Lawlor plawlor@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Major Field: Early Modern Britain and Ireland
Minor Field: Medieval/ Early Modern Travel History
Minor Field: Early American Constitutional History

Devan Lindey dlindey@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Michelle Martindale mmartind@purdue.edu
REC 402
(765) 494-4132
Graduate Student
Molly Mersmann mmersman@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Tanner Moore moore832@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Debadrita Mukherjee mukher24@purdue.edu
REC 410
Graduate Student

Gender studies and history of South Asia, especially India

Amber Nickell anickell@purdue.edu
REC 404
Graduate Student/History
Standa Pejsa spejsa@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
David Pike dwpike@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
James Podgorski jpodgors@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Angela Potter anbowen@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Max J. Rieger rieger@purdue.edu
REC 419
Graduate Student

U.S. History

Kevin Robey krobey@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Ed Robson erobson@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Lana J. Robyne lrobyne@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Amanda J. Rumba reason@purdue.edu
REC 420
Graduate Student

U.S. History

Brett D. Russler brussler@purdue.edu
REC 404
765-494-4132
Graduate Student
Collin Schnakenberg cschnak@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Marcus E. Smith smit2087@purdue.edu
REC 421
Graduate Student/History

Global History

Anne C. Snider snider16@purdue.edu
REC 420
Graduate Student

Modern Europe, especially eastern central Europe and the Balkans

Meredith K. Tuttle tuttle13@purdue.edu
REC 409
Graduate Student

Imperial Russian History (19th-20th Century), Tudor and Elizabethan England, Great Britain and European Monarchies, French Political and Cultural History (19th-20th Century).

Annalise Walkama awalkama@purdue.edu
REC 410
Graduate Student

Twentieth-century French social and cultural history

Hyeseon Woo woo28@purdue.edu

Graduate Student
Ruisheng Zhang zhan1849@purdue.edu
REC 401
(765) 494-4132
Graduate Student

Agricultural History, Modern China


Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2018 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.