Skip to main content

The George Mayer Award for History

Professor George H. Mayer taught history at Purdue University for almost twenty years. An unusually wide-ranging teacher and scholar, Mayer published on the history of American politics and spent time teaching in India and Malaysia under the auspices of the Fulbright program. He was a dedicated supporter of graduate students during his time at Purdue, and during his subsequent years teaching at the University of South Florida. In a reflection of his extraordinary commitment to graduate student education, one of Professor Mayer’s former students has generously established a memorial fund in his name to reward excellence in leadership and teaching among graduate students.

The George Mayer Award for History is open to all History Ph.D. students at Purdue University (West Lafayette). This monetary award will be presented during the spring semester to a student who demonstrates excellence in leadership and teaching.

History Department Ph.D. students may nominate themselves, or faculty may nominate on a student’s behalf. In either case, nominators should include a statement (not to exceed 500 words) outlining evidence of the student’s leadership at any level, including in the classroom, in the History Department, in the College of Liberal Arts, or at the University level. Evidence of leadership in the community or in the profession more broadly will also receive favorable consideration.

Applications will be reviewed by the Graduate Committee, and one award will be made each year. The Committee will emphasize evidence of graduate student leadership in their assessment of nominations. Evidence of leadership may include, but is not limited to: exceptional leadership in the undergraduate classroom through innovative curricular development or engagement activities; providing outstanding mentorship for undergraduate, graduate, or community organizations; contributions to departmental, college, university, or professional governance.

Applications may be emailed to the Academic Program Manager, O.T. Ford, at