Skip to main content

Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society

Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society sponsors events for all history majors and minors throughout the semester. It can be difficult to meet other history majors in class, and PAT’s ultimate goal is to create a sense of community among history undergraduates. 

All are welcome to join Phi Alpha Theta. This is an honor fraternity open to anyone who has an interest or passion for History, not just those who are studying History.

2022-23 Officers:

Faculty Advisor: Dr. T. Cole Jones,
President: Laura Gardner

Vice President: Lucy Lugo 
Secretary and Media Chair: Peyton Edelbrock
Treasurer: Jordan Utermark

The Historian
Executive Editor: Madeline Reese
Editors: TBA

Join Phi Alpha Theta

The requirements for official, lifetime membership to the organization are the completion of 12 credit hours of History courses with a 3.0 grade average in those classes along with membership dues of $20.  Membership in PAT is open to all students, history majors and minors or otherwise. We will initiate new members at the beginning of the spring semester. We had a great response at our callout and we hope to keep the momentum going throughout the year! 

If you have any questions about the organization, please email If you would like to see what we’re up to, follow us on twitter @PurduePhiAT or like our Facebook page, Purdue University Phi Alpha Theta.

Click here to view the Phi Alpha Theta national site.


Phi Alpha Theta selects the recipient for the Waltmann Award.  Applicants for this cash award must be fifth or sixth-semester history majors, active in Phi Alpha Theta, and are considered on their overall performance as students, with special attention to their historical studies.  The award is to be used during the recipient's senior year.  This award is given in honor of Professor Henry G. Waltmann, who was a faculty member in the Department of History from 1962 until his death in 1978.