School of Interdisciplinary Studies Comparative LiteratureCollege of Liberal Arts

Comparative Literature Directory


Director

Name Room Phone Email
Beate I. Allert Director // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS
Professor // SLC // German
Professor // SIS // Film and Video Studies
Professor // SLC
SC 256 (765) 494-3865 allert@purdue.edu

Staff

Name Title(s) Room Phone Email
Brandi J. Plantenga Senior Administrative Assistant // SIS
Graduate Coordinator // SIS // American Studies
Graduate Coordinator // SIS // Comparative Literature
Graduate Coordinator // SIS // Linguistics
Graduate Coordinator // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
BRNG 6180 49-69629 bplante@purdue.edu

Faculty

Name Title(s) Room Phone Email
Ahmed Idrissi Alami Chair of Arabic // SLC // Arabic
Associate Professor // SLC // Arabic
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
Associate Professor // SIS // Religious Studies
Associate Professor // SLC
Associate Professor // SIS
SC 260 (765) 496-2265 aidrissi@purdue.edu
Beate I. Allert Director // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS
Professor // SLC // German
Professor // SIS // Film and Video Studies
Professor // SLC
SC 256 (765) 494-3865 allert@purdue.edu
Dorsey Armstrong Professor and Head of English; Editor of Arthuriana // English
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS // Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Professor // SIS
HEAV 324 (765) 494-6478 darmstrong@purdue.edu
Pedro Bassoe Assistant Professor // SLC
Assistant Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Assistant Professor // SLC // Japanese
SC 109 pbassoe@purdue.edu
Thomas Broden Professor // SLC // French
Professor // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SLC
Professor // SIS
SC 284 (765) 496-7278 broden@purdue.edu
Elena Coda Associate Professor // SLC // Italian
Associate Professor // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SLC
Associate Professor // SIS
SC 274 (765) 494-9543 ecoda@purdue.edu
Keith Dickson Professor // SLC // Classics
Professor // SIS // Religious Studies
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS // Classical Studies
Professor // SLC
Professor // SIS
SC G066 Spring 2020: By appointment kdickson@purdue.edu
Paul B. Dixon Professor // SLC // Spanish and Portuguese
PSRL Editor
Professor // SIS // Latin American Studies
Professor // SIS // Film and Video Studies
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SLC
Professor // SIS
SC 155 (765) 494-3835 tudobem@purdue.edu
Catherine Dossin Associate Professor // Rueff School // Art and Design
Associate Professor // Rueff School // Art History
Associate Professor // Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance
Associate Professor // SIS
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Latin American Studies
PAO 3157 (765) 494-6469 cdossin@purdue.edu
Angelica Duran Professor // English
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS // Religious Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Critical Disability Studies
Professor // SIS
HEAV G39B duran0@purdue.edu
Dino Franco Felluga Professor; Director of Literature, Theory, Cultural Studies // English
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS
HEAV 430 (765) 496-1647 felluga@purdue.edu
Geraldine Friedman Associate Professor // English
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
Professor // SIS
HEAV 310C friedman@purdue.edu
Ariel de la Fuente Associate Professor // History
Associate Professor // SIS // Latin American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
UNIV 329 (765) 494-4132 delafuen@purdue.edu
Sandor Goodhart Director // SIS // Religious Studies
Professor // SIS // Religious Studies
Professor // English
Professor // SIS // Classical Studies
Professor // SIS // Jewish Studies
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS // Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Professor // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
Professor of English, Director Religious Studies // SIS
HEAV 438 (765) 494-2299 goodhart@purdue.edu
Patricia Hart Professor // SLC // Spanish and Portuguese
Professor // SIS // Film and Video Studies
Professor // SLC
Professor // SIS
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
SC 288 (765) 494-3857 phart@purdue.edu
Stacy E. Holden Associate Professor // History
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SIS // Jewish Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Religious Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
UNIV 127 sholden@purdue.edu
Daniel Hsieh Associate Professor // SLC // Chinese
Associate Professor // SIS // Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SLC // Asian Studies
Associate Professor // SLC
Associate Professor // SIS
Chair Department of East Asian Languages
SC 161 (765) 494-8598 dhsieh@purdue.edu
Shaun Hughes Professor; Director of Graduate Studies // English
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS // Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Professor // SIS
HEAV 434 (765) 494-3776 sfdh@purdue.edu
Cara Kinnally Associate Professor // SLC // Spanish and Portuguese
Associate Professor // SIS // Latin American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SLC
Associate Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
SC 282 765.494.0397 ckinnall@purdue.edu
Clotilde Landais Associate Professor // SLC // French
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SLC
Associate Professor // SIS
SC 209 (765) 494-9522 clandais@purdue.edu
Paula Leverage Associate Professor // SLC // French
Associate Professor // SIS // Film and Video Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SLC
Associate Professor // SIS
SC 280 (765) 494-9661 leverage@purdue.edu
Alfred Lopez Professor // English
Associate Head // SIS
Director // SIS // Latin American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // American Studies
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
BRNG 6175 (765) 494-5681 alopez@purdue.edu
Robert Marzec Professor; Associate Editor of Modern Fiction Studies // English
Professor // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
Professor // SIS
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
HEAV 332A (765) 494-3759 rmarzec@purdue.edu
Erin Moodie Assistant Professor // SLC // Classics
Assistant Professor // SLC
Assistant Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
SC 203 765.496.2260 emoodie@purdue.edu
Daniel Morris Professor // English
Professor // SIS // Jewish Studies
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SIS // Film and Video Studies
Professor // SIS
HEAV 122B (765) 494-3051 dmorris@purdue.edu
Manushag (Nush) Powell Professor // English
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
HEAV 437 mnpowell@purdue.edu
Aparajita Sagar Associate Professor // English
Associate Professor // Administration
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Critical Disability Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Asian American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS
HEAV 308C (765) 494-3780 asagar@purdue.edu
Dawn F. Stinchcomb Associate Professor // SLC // Spanish and Portuguese
Associate Professor // SIS
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // African American Studies
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // Latin American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SLC
SC 162 (765) 496-6082 Stinchcomb@purdue.edu
Margaret Mih Tillman Assistant Professor // History
Assistant Professor // SLC // Asian Studies
Assistant Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SIS
UNIV 128 (765) 496-2651 mmtillman@purdue.edu
Jeffrey Turco Associate Professor // SLC // German
Associate Professor // SIS // Religious Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Associate Professor // SLC
Associate Professor // SIS
SC 262 jturco@purdue.edu
Germina N Veldwachter Associate Professor // SLC // French
Associate Professor // SLC
Affiliated Faculty // SIS // African American Studies
Associate Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
SC 292 (765) 494-9685 nveldwac@purdue.edu
Hongjian Wang Assistant Professor // SLC // Chinese
Assistant Professor // SIS // Film and Video Studies
Assistant Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Assistant Professor // SLC // Asian Studies
Assistant Professor // SLC
Assistant Professor // SIS
SC 261 wang2512@purdue.edu
Jen William Head // SLC
Professor // SLC // German
Professor // SIS // Film and Video Studies
Professor // SIS // Philosophy and Literature
Professor // SIS // Jewish Studies
Professor // SIS // Comparative Literature
Professor // SLC
Professor // SIS
SC 146B (765) 494-3834 jmwilliam@purdue.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Room Phone Email
Howard Mancing SC 146G mancing@purdue.edu
Floyd Merrell SC 146G fmerrell@purdue.edu
Charles Ross rosscs@purdue.edu

Graduate Student

Name Room Phone Email
Muhammad Hassan Qadeer Butt Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature butt7@purdue.edu
Jiacheng Fan Teaching Assistant // SLC
Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature
Teaching Assistant // SLC // German
SC 212 fan162@purdue.edu
Rachel Hackett Teaching Assistant // SLC
Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature
Teaching Assistant // SLC // French
SC G025 hacketr@purdue.edu
Han Hao Teaching Assistant // SLC
Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature
Teaching Assistant // SLC // Chinese
SC G072 hao75@purdue.edu
Alejandro Rodriguez de Jesus Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature
Teaching Assistant // SLC
Teaching Assistant // SLC // Spanish and Portuguese
SC G020 rodri413@purdue.edu
Gwenael Bruno Jouin Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature gjouin@purdue.edu
Andrew Yost Kroninger Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature akroning@purdue.edu
Stacey Smythe Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature
Teaching Assistant // SLC // Italian
SC 164 ssmythe@purdue.edu
Lang Wang Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature SC G024 wang2863@purdue.edu
Meng Wang Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature wangmeng@purdue.edu
Shiyu Zhang Teaching Assistant // SLC
Graduate Student // SIS // Comparative Literature
Teaching Assistant // SLC // Chinese
SC 164 zhan3378@purdue.edu

Limited Term Lecturer

Name Room Phone Email
Lynne M Dahmen Limited Term Lecturer // SLC // Arabic
Limited Term Lecturer // SIS // Religious Studies
Limited Term Lecturer // SIS // Comparative Literature
PRCE 185 ldahmen@purdue.edu

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.