Jacqueline Jones Royster

Jones RoysterJacqueline Jones Royster
Ivan Allen Jr. Dean in Liberal Arts and Technology, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, Georgia Institute of Technology     


Jacqueline Jones Royster is Dean of the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts at the Georgia Institute of Technology.  She holds the Ivan Allen Jr. Dean’s Chair in Liberal Arts and Technology and is Professor of English in the School of Literature, Media, and Communication.

Professor Royster has three complementary areas of interest in research:  the rhetorical history of women of African descent, the development and uses of literacy, and contexts and processes related to the teaching of writing. 

She has authored numerous articles and books that illustrate this confluence of concerns in both literacy studies and women's studies.  Publication highlights include:  3 single-authored/edited books—Southern Horrors and Other Writings:  The Anti-Lynching Campaign of Ida B. Wells-Barnett (1997), Traces of a Stream:  Literacy and Social Change among African American Women (2000), and Profiles of Ohio Women, 1803-2003 (2003);  1 co-authored volume—Feminist Rhetorical Practices:  New Horizons in Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy Studies (2012); 2 co-edited volumes—Double-Stitch:  Black Women Write about Mothers and Daughters (1991) and Calling Cards: Theory and Practice in the Study of Race, Gender, and Culture (2005);  and one textbook (a reader) for college writing courses, Critical Inquiries (2003). 

She was consulting writer for Writer’s Choice, a textbook series for grades 6 – 8, and co-edited Reader’s Choice, a literature series for grades 9 – 12, both published by Glencoe/McGraw-Hill. Recently submitted for publication is Women at War:  Diaries, Memoirs, and Letters from the American Civil War.

Royster has held various leadership roles in English professional organizations including, Chair of the Conference on College Composition and Communication and Chair of the executive committee of the Modern Language Association’s Writing Division.

Her awards include the CCCC Braddock Award (2000), the state of Ohio’s Pioneer in Education Award (2000), the MLA Mina P. Shaughnessy Prize (2001), the Columbus YWCA Woman of Achievement Award (2004), the CCCC Exemplar Award (2004), the ADE/MLA Frances Andrew March Award (2006).

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2016 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.