Skip to main content


Faculty members in English pursue research projects and creative work that spans the full range of contemporary “English studies.”  These areas of expertise include Literature, Theory, and Cultural Studies; Rhetoric and Composition; Creative Writing; and English Language and Linguistics.

Three faculty members hold Distinguished Professorships: Victor Raskin, Retired Distinguished Professor of English and Linguistics, Arkady Plotnitsky, Distinguished Professor of English and Interdisciplinary Studies, and John Duvall, the Margaret Church Distinguished Professor of English.  In recent years, several faculty members have been the recipients of national, external grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Fulbright scholars program, the National Science Foundation, and the Gates Foundation. 

Two major scholarly journals are edited by faculty members in English: Modern Fiction Studies (Ed. Robert Marzec) and Arthuriana (Ed. Dorsey Armstrong).  Professor Dino Felluga, is an executive committee member of NAVSA, which oversees the publication of digital archives and manuscripts related to the study of 19th century British literature and culture.