2021 wabash prizes in fiction & poetry




  1. Send one piece of fiction (up to 25 pages), or up to three poems of no more than six total pages (all poems should be compiled into a single document). Please submit a .doc, .docx or .rtf file only.
  2. A reading fee of your choice (submitted online) must accompany each submission. We are offering sliding scale submissions this year so that more people are able to submit. With a $16 submission fee, you’ll receive a free back issue. With a $20 submission fee, you’ll receive a copy of the prize issue. If you are a Black, Indigenous, and/or Trans writer, please email to request a fee waiver. 
  3. Multiple submissions are allowed, though they must be accompanied by an additional reading fee.
  4. Pages should be numbered.
  5. All entries will be read anonymously, with all author information removed. Information that identifies the author should NOT appear on the manuscript itself or in the file name.
  6. All work must be previously unpublished.
  7. Simultaneous submissions are acceptable. Please notify us immediately upon acceptance elsewhere.
  8. Each piece will be read by at least two Sycamore staffers, with the winner selected by the category’s final judge (Joy Priest for Poetry, Julian K. Jarboe for Fiction).
  9. All contest submissions will be considered for regular inclusion in Sycamore Review.
  10. When submitting, be sure to select “2021 Wabash Prize for Poetry” or “2021 Wabash Prize for Fiction” on Submittable.
  11. If you are personally affiliated with the judge of the category to which you wish to submit, please do not submit to the contest at this time.

Questions may be directed to

This contest is currently OPEN.

past judges

Leah Johnson (Fiction 2020)
Leila Chatti (Poetry 2020)
JY Yang (Fiction 2019)
Jos Charles (Poetry 2019)
Kiese Laymon (Nonfiction 2019)
Rachel Khong (Fiction 2018)
Hanif Abdurraqib (Poetry 2018)
Blake Butler (Nonfiction 2018)
Alissa Nutting (Fiction 2017)
Shane McCrae (Poetry 2017)
Brian Blanchfield (Nonfiction 2017)
Adam Johnson (Fiction 2016)
Reginald Dwayne Betts (Poetry 2016)
Michelle Tea (Nonfiction 2016)
Janet Burroway (Fiction 2015)
Kelly Link (Fiction 2015)
Mary Szybist (Poetry 2015)
Rebecca Makkai (Fiction 2014)
Bob Hicok (Poetry 2014)
C.D. Wright (Poetry 2013)
Cheryl Strayed (Nonfiction 2013)
Charles Baxter (Fiction 2013)
Louise Glück (Poetry 2012)
Antonya Nelson (Fiction 2011)
Jane Hirshfield (Poetry 2010)
Peter Ho Davies (Fiction 2010)
Mark Doty (Poetry 2009)
Tobias Wolff (Fiction 2009)
Billy Collins (Poetry 2008)
Richard Bausch (Fiction 2008)
Eavan Boland (Poetry 2007)
Dan Chaon (Fiction 2007)
Ellen Bryant Voigt (Poetry 2006)
Janet Burroway (Fiction 2006)
Tony Hoagland (Poetry 2005)

past winners

Karlyn Coleman (Fiction 2020)
Amy Sailer (Poetry 2020)
Mary Elizabeth Aubé (Fiction 2019)
Felicia Zamora (Poetry 2019)
Su Cho (Nonfiction 2019)
Joshua Riedel (Fiction 2018)
John Sibley Williams (Poetry 2018)
Jo-Ann Berelowitz (Nonfiction 2018)
Eric Van Hoose (Fiction 2017)
Alicia Wright (Poetry 2017)
B.G. Gaylord (Nonfiction 2017)
Caleb Tankersley (Fiction 2016)
Chelsea Dingman (Poetry 2016)
Kristen Nichols (Nonfiction 2016)
Alexander Lumens (Fiction 2015)
Micah Den Hicks (Fiction 2015)
Jody Rambo (Poetry 2015)
John Englehardt (Fiction 2014)
Matt Morton (Poetry 2014)
Cintia Santana (Poetry 2013)
Richard Froude (Nonfiction 2013)
Angie Kim (Fiction 2013)
Maya Jewell Zeller (Poetry 2012)
Joe B. Sills (Fiction 2011)
Nancy K. Pearson (Poetry 2010)
Adam Prince (Fiction 2010)
Lizzie Hutton (Poetry 2009)
Rachel Furey (Fiction 2009)
Jim Tilley (Poetry 2008)
Matthew Simmons (Fiction 2008)
Jude Nutter (Poetry 2007)
Jacob M. Appel (Fiction 2007)
Cindy May Murphy (Poetry 2006)
Jeff P. Jones (Fiction 2006)
Anna Journey (Poetry 2005)


Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2021 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.