Skip to main content

Department of Theatre

The undergraduate programs in the Department of Theatre at Purdue combine the best of a broad-based liberal arts education with specified training in many aspects of the performing arts - including acting, design, dramaturgy, technology and theatre engineering. Students learn from a faculty and staff who are professional artists, technicians, and scholars working actively in their fields, in an environment that is both supportive and challenging - combining one-on-one mentoring, small classes, and opportunities for applied work in production. Theatre students develop skills in communication, collaboration, and critical thinking along with cultural and creative competencies which prepare them for successful careers in the professional theatre and entertainment industry, graduate studies, as well as law, education, business, and other fields. Graduate programs offer rigorous, individualized curricula preparing artists and technicians for careers in the professional theatre and entertainment industry. 

Theatre is one of four units along with Art and Design, Dance and Music in the Patti and Rusty Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance, housed in Yue-Kong Pao Hall of Visual and Performing Arts, which features exceptional facilities and equipment including studios that serve as laboratory spaces and two innovatively designed theatres. 

The Department of Theatre offers the following degree programs:

Undergraduate Program:

Graduate Program

The mainstage season consists of four productions involving a mix of undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and guest artists who serve as directors, designers, actors, and technicians. In addition, the Shrader Workshop Series offers several opportunities to be involved with experimental projects, generated by proposals by students, faculty, and staff. All performance and production assignments are chosen by open audition or interview, and non-theatre majors are always welcome.

To contact call (765) 494-3074 or email

Purdue University is a member of the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST), the University Resident Theatre Association (URTA), and the United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT).