School of Interdisciplinary Studies American StudiesCollege of Liberal Arts

Chester E. Eisinger Awards

2019 Submission Information

Chester E. Eisinger Prize

The Chester E. Eisinger Prize is awarded annually to recognize excellent scholarship among American Studies students. It is named in honor of the founder of American Studies at Purdue, who encouraged such excellence by his example as a scholar and teacher.

The competition for the Eisinger Prize is open to all graduate students in American Studies. Entries should be recent, unpublished essays, including work appearing in one's dissertation, that deal with some aspect of American culture and society. One prize $500 will be awarded during the end-of-the-year American Studies Symposium.

The standard of judgment will be strictly qualitative. All submissions must be entered anonymously and will remain anonymous during evaluation. To insure anonymity, students should omit their names from the manuscript and register their entries when submitting them to the American Studies Program Secretary, Brandi Plantenga (Heavilon Hall, Room G8). All materials must be submitted electronically, if possible by Monday, March 22, 2019.

Chester E. Eisinger Research Award

All Purdue students majoring in American Studies may compete for this award. To do so the student submits a research proposal, no more than five double-spaced pages in length, containing the following components:

  1. A statement of your research problem and its significance.
  2. The names and locations of specific archival or library collections you plan to visit.
  3. A budget.

The award will go to the student whose proposal is deemed most worthy of support by the members of the Eisinger Prize Committee. More than one award may be made, depending on funds available.

The standard of judgment will be strictly qualitative. Submissions are not anonymous. Proposals should be submitted to the American Studies Program Secretary, Brandi Plantenga (Heavilon Hall, Room G8). All materials must be submitted electronically, if possible by Monday, March 22, 2019.


2019 Chester E. Eisinger Prize Award
Paula Ashe

2019 Chester E. Eisinger Research Award
Katje Armentrout
Rachel Bonini
Ariel Smith
Kadari Taylor-Watson


Past Eisinger Award Winners

Katje Armentrout - Prize
Rocío León - Research
Jingyi Liu - Research
Ariel Smith - Research
Stephen Horrocks - Research


Lisa Young - Prize
Christopher Munt - Research
Jennifer Sdunzik - Research
Rocío León - Research

Stephen Horrocks - Prize
Sascha Angermann
Salvador Gutiérrez-Peraza

Kera Lovell - Prize
Aria Halliday - Prize
Kadari Taylor-Watson
Kera Lovell
Jennifer Sdunzik

2014 - Suzanne Clemenz - Prize, Aria Halliday & Kera Lovell (Honorable Mentions) / Jennifer Sdunzik, Pamela Sari, Arthur Banton - Research
2013 - Kera Lovell - Prize / Michelle Carreon, Jehan Mullin, Chelsea Stripe - Research
2012 - Lisa Beringer & Pamela Sari - Prize
2011 - Lisa Beringer - Prize
2010 - Courtney Thompson - Prize
2009 - Jamie Hickner  - Prize
2008 - Sabine Klein  - Prize
2007 - Lee Bebout  - Prize
2006 - Brian McCammack  - Prize
2005 - Daniel McKay  - Prize
2004 - Laura Beadling  - Prize
2003 - Megan MacDonald  - Prize
2002 - Jay R. Hopler - Prize 
2001 - Stephanie S. Turner  - Prize
2000 - H. Clark Maddux  - Prize
1999 - Christopher C. Elzey and Kevin M. Scott  - Prize
1998 - Rebecca R. Saulsbury and Kevin M. Scott  - Prize
1997 - Andaluna Borcila  - Prize
1996 - Anne Boyd  - Prize
1995 - Christine Braunberger  - Prize
1994 - Thomas Pendergast  - Prize
1993 - Michael Hartford  - Prize
1992 - John W. Stauffer  - Prize
1991 - Samuel W. White  - Prize
1989 - Mary K. Wainwright  - Prize
1988 - Jane E. Rose  - Prize
1987 - Brian C. Price  - Prize
1986 - Brian C. Price and Earl J. Hess  - Prize
1985 - Thomas R. Myers  - Prize
1984 - Daniel McInerney  - Prize
1983 - Lee Quinby  - Prize
1982 - Earl J. Hess  - Prize
1981 - Lee Quinby Raymond Maxurek - Prize

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2019 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by CLA

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the College of Liberal Arts Webmaster.

Some content on this site may require the use of a special plug-in or application. Please visit our plug-ins page for links to download these applications.