Skip to main content


The School of Languages and Cultures (SLC) offers study in the following areas: American Sign Language, Arabic, Chinese, Classics, French, German, Ancient Greek, Biblical Hebrew, Modern Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

SLC is organized into five Departments led by faculty Chairs from the respective areas:
The Department of AACHI: American Sign Language, Arabic, Classics (includes Ancient Greek and Latin), Hebrew (both Biblical and Modern), and Italian 
The Department of East Asian Languages (currently Chinese and Japanese)
The Department of French
The Department of German and Russian
The Department of Spanish and Portuguese